Playing long balls into empty space since 2012.

Monday, 30 September 2013

Victorian Soccer Fixtures and Results 1885

1885 is a growth year for the game. A new team, Albert Park enters the fray and there appears to be an extensive list of fixtures. Prahran win the Beaney Cup and Richmond take out the George and George Cup

Teams

  • Melbourne (red and blue)
  • South Melbourne (blue)
  • Prahran (Maroon)
  • Albert Park (blue and white)
  • Richmond (white)


Saturday 21 March
South Melbourne 3 Prahran 0 at Middle Park
Saturday 28 March
South Melbourne 0 Richmond 1 at Middle Park (George and George Challenge Cup)
Saturday 3 April
Melbourne v South Melbourne at Albert Park
Saturday 11 April
Melbourne v Prahran at Middle Park
Saturday 18 April
Prahran 1 v South Melbourne 2
Saturday 25 April
South Melbourne v Albert Park at Middle Park
Saturday 2 May
Richmond v South Melbourne at Richmond Cricket Ground (George and George Challenge Cup)
Saturday 9 May
Carlton v Prahran at Warehousemen's Cricket-ground, St. Kilda road  (George and George Challenge Cup)
Saturday 9 May
Albert Park v Melbourne at Carlton Cricket-ground (George and George Challenge Cup)
South Melbourne v Carlton at Middle park
Saturday 16 May
Albert Park 5 v Melbourne 1 (is this the above game?)
Saturday 23 May
Richmond 2 v Prahran 3 at Richmond Cricket Ground (George and George Challenge Cup)
Monday 25 May (Queen's Holiday)
England v Scotland  at Warehousemen's Cricket-ground

Saturday 30 May
Carlton v South Melbourne (draw) at Warehousemen's Cricket-ground, St. Kilda road  (George and George Challenge Cup)
Saturday 6 June
Albert Park v Melbourne at ??? (George and George Challenge Cup)
Prahran v South Melbourne at Warehousemen's Cricket-ground (friendly)
Saturday 13 June
Carlton v South Melbourne at Richmond Cricket Ground (postponed)
(George and George Challenge Cup)
Saturday 20 June
Carlton v South Melbourne at Carlton Cricket-ground (George and George Challenge Cup)
Prahran v Albert Park at Warehousemen's Cricket-ground
Saturday 4 July
South Melbourne v Prahran at Richmond Cricket Ground (Beaney Cup)
Thursday 16 July
Victoria 4 v NSW 0 at East Melbourne Cricket Ground
NSW team that visited Victoria in 1885 The Sydney Mail 8 July 1925.
Argus article, 17 July suggests a Victorian photograph was taken as well.
Saturday 18 July
Victorian English 2 v NSW 2 at Richmond Cricket Ground
Monday 20 July
Victorian Scottish v NSW at Warehousemen's Cricket-ground
Saturday 25 July
Carlton v Prahran at Warehousemen's Cricket-ground (George and George Challenge Cup)
Saturday 15 August
Albert Park v Prahran at Warehousemen's Cricket Ground (George and George Challenge Cup semi-final)
Carlton v Richmond at Carlton Cricket-ground (George and George Challenge Cup semi-final)
Saturday 22 August
Prahran 3 v Carlton 2 at Warehousemen's Cricket Ground (Beaney Cup final)
Saturday 29 August
Richmond 2 v Prahran 1 at Warehousemen's Cricket Ground (George and George Challenge Cup final)

2 comments:

  1. What and where was the Warehousemen's Cricket-ground?

    ReplyDelete